House Of Dark Shadows – by Robert Liparulo (2008)

House Of Dark Shadows

Fifteen-year-old Xander’s family moves from Los Angeles to the tiny town of Pinedale when his dad gets a new job. They find a reasonably priced Victorian house in a wooded area on the edge of town. Xander has an uneasy feeling about the house from the first time they see it, and the feeling only grows after they move in.

As Xander and his brother David explore their new home, they discover that some of the upper rooms instantly transport them to other places, sometimes other points in time. Some of the places that they step into are harmless enough, but other doorways lead to extreme danger. The house also has spooky sounds that cannot be explained, leading the brothers to believe that the house is haunted.

This young adult novel has enough creaking floorboards and dark shadows to keep any middle-school or high-school readers turning pages until the end. Actually, the end of the book leads to the beginning of the next book. There are a total of six books in the “Dreamhouse Kings” series.

Author: alwaysreading1

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s