Mother’s Day Weekend

mother's day roses

The commercials on television and radio tell you that the greatness of Mother’s Day depends on how expensive a gift you give your mother. (Diamonds, anyone?) But it’s really the shared experiences that make it special for me. I only have to look back over this weekend to count the wonderful experiences. Like enjoying a meal with my mother and brothers, followed by a tour of the place my older brother works now. Like working with my oldest son on painting the outside of his house. Like taking a walk with my middle son and snapping happy selfies. Like my youngest son putting up some new pictures in the kitchen. Like enjoying Asian cuisine with my husband at our favorite restaurant. Like comforting the granddaughter when she fell and split her lip, and coaxing her back to laughter. Like watching the grandson draw a picture of his pet dinosaur while he talked about it. Like being together at church this morning.

As I look at the lovely roses on our table, it reminds me of the love of our children. Every day that I wake up and all our sons are alive is a gift from God, one that I do not take for granted.

 

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

