Personalized Book Suggestions

huffington-post-book
photo credit: Huffington Post
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/08/05/health-benefits-reading_n_4081258.html

Believe it or not, I often have a terrible time finding a book to read. Sounds crazy, right? There’s so much to choose from now, and maybe that’s part of the problem. We live in a time when tens of thousands of books are available – at multiple public libraries, at the download section of the library’s website, school/college libraries, amazon’s kindle store, audible.com, and regular bookstores. In this glut of books, I have noticed two things:
1, there are a lot of books using the same tired story-line, and 2, a lot of books are just plain trash with authors competing for the raunchiest details.

I often start three or four books before finding one that I actually like. I’ve looked at book recommendations online, but there’s so many of them that it’s overwhelming. Also, what one person calls a must-read book might be a total bore for someone else. So a week ago I signed up for Personalized Picks at my local library. After completing a detailed survey, they e-mailed a suggestion list of ten books. It looks promising, and I grabbed a few books from the library.

So if you’re having the same problem I am, consider getting a personalized list from your local librarian!

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

2 thoughts on “Personalized Book Suggestions”

Leave a Reply

