The Joy Of E-Audiobooks

one-click-digital

Think you can’t enjoy a great story because you’re too busy to sit down and read a book?  Try exploring the world of e-audio-books. Most public libraries now let you use your library card to check out and download audio-books to your cell phone, tablet, or computer.

Last week, I checked out “A Tree Grows In Brooklyn” from my library’s website and downloaded it onto my cellphone. The book is narrated by a talented narrator whose accent is so perfect that you feel as if you’re in Brooklyn in 1915, living with the impoverished Nolan family. I would just turn on the audio-book and walk about with it in my pocket. It was great to listen to as I folded laundry, ironed, or prepared supper. When it was time to pedal a few miles on the exercise bike, the story kept me company.

Winter has eased enough to walk outside again, so I attach headphones to my cellphone and hit the sidewalk. As long as I stay away from streets with a lot of noisy traffic, listening is easy. I’m able to take longer walks, since there is something to focus on other than tired legs and feet. Today’s walk stretched into three miles, as I finished “A Tree Grows In Brooklyn”. Then I just sat out in the sunshine for awhile and thought about the challenges and joys of Francie Nolan in the novel.

If you’ve never tried an audio-book, you’re missing out on something special. Check with your local library to see what they offer. You can generally find it on your library’s web-site, under “e-books and downloads”. Overdrive, One Click Digital, and Hoopla are all companies that offer e-audio-books to libraries.

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

