The Cross In The Woods

2016-11-29-cross-in-the-woods-a

Do you ever feel the need to get away from this crazy world, and just go somewhere peaceful? Today I went to my quiet place, a place I visit several times a year. It’s tucked away behind a church, in a wooded area. In the midst of the trees is a large clearing, with a labyrinth pattern in the wild-grass. In the middle of the labyrinth is a plain wooden cross, with benches facing it.

2016-11-29-cross-in-the-woods-b

I sit down there, and see the cross, and think about Jesus, who died on a splintery, blood-soaked cross in agony and pain, in a way no one should ever have to die. He paid for all our sins on that cross, because he loved us.

I listen to the wind blow, and squint at the bright sunlight, and these words of Jesus come into my mind:
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
(Holy Bible, Matthew chapter 11, verses 28-30)

If you’re feeling a little beat up by the circumstances of life, find a quiet spot somewhere and talk to Jesus about it. He’s always there for you.

 

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

1 thought on “The Cross In The Woods”

Leave a Reply

