Thanksgiving Eve

2016-11-04-palmer-park-woods-c

It’s Thanksgiving Eve. Everything is ready for tomorrow’s big family dinner. It’s that peaceful time at the end of the day, with everyone quietly tucked away in their own space. I’m listening to the washer and dryer chug along as they finish up the laundry, and I’m thinking about the past year.

It’s been a hellish year for our family. The most devastating thing we experienced was our son’s accident in February. He was hit in the driver’s side of his car by a 24-foot box truck, and had injuries so severe that he actually died at the hospital, then was brought back to life by the hand of God and some extremely skilled surgeons.

Seven weeks after his accident, I shared some of my thoughts in this post:
https://alwaysreading1.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/seven-weeks-and-counting/

It’s now been over nine months. There have been so many surgeries, doctors’ appointments, physical therapy, trips to the pharmacy, and medical bills. There is at least one more surgery to come. I pray constantly for complete healing for my son, and for the ever-present pain to be taken from his body. Sometimes the answers to our prayers seem far away, like a mirage in the desert.

But as I look back over the past year, I know this to be true: Jesus is with us every minute of every day. In this past year, Jesus gave our son – and the entire family – grace and strength to keep going, and for that I am extremely thankful.

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

