Diary Of A Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul – by Jeff Kinney (2014)

Diary_of_a_Wimpy_Kid_The_Long_Haul
As I continued my quest for some books that my 4th-grade granddaughter could read, I kept bumping into suggestions to read books from the “Diary Of A Wimpy Kid” series. Never having read one, I thought it was time to give it a try. After all, it had to be better than the last children’s book I tried to read.

I settled on “The Long Haul”, which happens to be the ninth book about the Heffley family. Mom Heffley has decided that what the family needs is a nice road trip together. So off they go, Dad, Mom and the three boys, with Greg writing down their adventures. As you might suspect, nearly everything that can go wrong, does go wrong. Greg records it all with a witty humor, and adds lots of illustrations to the story.

Before I realized it, I’d zipped through the entire book. Yes, this is a book make for 4th graders! Of course it’s full of silliness and crazy pictures, but isn’t that what a fun kids’ book should be? No depressing story line or ghoulish conversations. No swearing or inappropriate content. Just a really humorous story that makes even an adult laugh.

 

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

