The Project That Refuses To Finish

vhs-to-dvd

 

Ever had a project that just refuses to finish, no matter how long you work on it? Some years ago, I decided that our old family videos needed to be converted from VHS tapes to DVD discs. So I attached a nifty device called the Hollywood Digital Bridge to our VHS player and my imac computer. All those grainy memories of birthday parties, Christmas trees, and picnics were neatly put into the imac, where I burned them to DVD-R discs, complete with cool-looking menus.

Then our old VHS camcorder died and for awhile we had a compact Sony cassette camcorder. The picture quality wasn’t really any better than our humungous old camcorder, but we tried to capture the important moments. After awhile those little videocassettes piled up, so I made DVD-R discs of those too. I stopped recording with it at some point because the picture quality was so poor compared to the new recorders coming out. For awhile we didn’t have any home videos. Then my youngest son showed me that we could record video on his Nikon camera. The picture quality was better than the second camcorder, but it was still what we now call “standard definition”.

About a year ago, I decided it was time to organize all the video files we’d collected over the years. It’s a project I pick up ever now and them. Today I noticed, to my dismay, that some of what I thought were MP4 files are actually M4v files, which you have to play in i-tunes. In fact, our video clips seem to be a hodgepodge of video formats. We have DV, AVI, MPEG-4, MP4, .mov, and M4v files. Sigh.

So what does my struggle with this project have to do with reading? (This is, after all, supposed to be a reading blog.) Well, if I had been carefully reading what type of file format I was saving all those old video clips in, I wouldn’t have this mess. The moral of the story is: no matter how short something is, READ IT CAREFULLY!

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

