Winter Doldrums

2016-02-13 books on table a

About this time every year, I find myself in the midst of the winter doldrums. The daylight hours are short, and often sunless. Instead of bounding out of bed when the alarm buzzs, I carefully swing my stiff, painful ankles onto the floor and gingerly totter out of the bedroom. My winter coat has smudges of salt powder on it from brushing against cars in need of a bath. The air is frigid and the sidewalks icy, so walks have been all but abandoned. I dislike driving in this kind of weather, so I just go to the necessary places – work, school, church, the grocery store – and am home the rest of the day. By 8:00 in the evening, I’m yawning and ready for bed. My mind is dull, and what I really want is to be like the animals that go into hibernation and don’t re-appear until spring.

Even my reading habits are affected. It’s harder to get through a book, even a good one, as I doze off mid-sentence. The temptation is to just crawl into bed, pull up Netflix on my laptop, and watch endlessly. But I can’t abandon reading. There’s a pile of reading material on the table beside me, including:

“CraftSanity” magazine issue ten, just released by the talented Jennifer Ackerman-Haywood, which I have read about half of, from http://craftsanity.com/

“The Great Zoo Of China” by Matthew Reilly and “The Readers Of Broken Wheel Recommend” by Katarina Bivald, both from my local library

“Song Of The Trees” and “The Well”, both by Mildred D. Taylor, which I bought for a quarter each at a used book sale

So I don’t lack for things to read. Look for reviews on at least one of these in the not-too-far future.

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

