Where The Sidewalk Ends – by Shel Silverstein (1974)

Where The Sidewalk Ends

 

Maybe I’m the last person in my neighborhood over the age of ten who had never read any poems by Shel Silverstein. Let me say that poetry is typically one of my least favorite categories of books. But a few days ago I picked up “Where The Sidewalk Ends” and started reading.

I thought, I’ll just read a few of these. The pages kept going and going, and I soon found myself in the middle of the book. Most of the poems had a comical sketch drawn by the author next to them. I read about acrobats, talking animals, instruments, a crocodile with a toothache, and the dirtiest man in the world. The book is fun from one end to the other.

A few have a more serious tone to them that may go over the heads of children, but adults will understand. Consider the poem “No Difference” on page 81:

“Small as a peanut,
Big as a giant,
We’re all the same size
When we turn off the light.

Rich as a sultan,
Poor as a mite,
We’re all worth the same
When we turn off the light.

Red, black or orange,
Yellow or white,
We all look the same
When we turn off the light.

So maybe the way
To make everything right
Is for God to just reach out
And turn off the light!”

Thank you, Mr. Silverstein, for both your silly and your serious poems.

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

