Fall Down Laughing: How Squiggy Caught Multiple Sclerosis And Didn’t Tell Nobody – by David Lander (2000)

Fall Down Laughing

Looking for a good biography that won’t take you forever and a day to read? I would highly recommend “Fall Down Laughing”. Author David Lander is probably best known for his television role of the dim-witted Squiggy on the show “Laverne And Shirley”. While Squiggy was a shallow character whose life was an open book, Mr. Lander’s real life was anything but an open book. Unbeknownst to the public and his co-workers, he had been diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis.

Many people would have succumbed to depression and discouragement, but not David Lander. He loved his work, and wanted to keep going entertaining folks as long as he physically could. The great lengths he went through to keep his secret were amazing. If you think your life is difficult, read what it’s like to live with MS every day. Squiggy never impressed me, but David Lander has definitely earned my respect.

 
Excerpt:

“I had suffered a pretty bad fall earlier in the day, and I spent quite a bit of time on the floor trying to get up. By the time I was finally able to stand, I was bruised, battered, and exhausted. I wanted very much to climb into bed and turn on a baseball game, but instead I pulled on my pants, tucked in my shirt, and went to the dinner, hoping like hell I wouldn’t fall down again.” pg. 176-177

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

