“Where’s The Beef!”

Where's The Beef

 

It’s Saturday, so off I went to the first of the two grocery stores I frequent. In addition to the basics, I picked up a small beef roast. Even on sale it was pricey, but it would make a pleasant change from the usual chicken and turkey. Milk was on sale for $1.99 a gallon. Aha, I thought, they are finally catching on that if they want to sell milk, they can’t be higher than the Super-Walmart or Aldi’s down the street. After grabbing everything on the list, I headed for checkout. The bill seemed lower than I had anticipated, but hey, that was good!

Got home, unloaded all the groceries into the fridge, freezer and cupboards. The beef roast was nowhere to be seen. Like the old lady in the 1984 Wendy’s tv commercial, I said, “Hey, where’s the beef?” Did I get charged for a roast that didn’t make it back into my cart? I grabbed the receipt and examined it once, twice, three times. It was not on the receipt. Whew, I thought. At least I didn’t get charged for something that didn’t make it home!

It would appear that my beef roast either: a) was scanned to the snooty little woman ahead of me with the very large order who gave the cashier a hard time, b) scanned to the person behind me, or c) it fell off the belt entirely and is on the floor! Suffice it to say, we will not be having beef roast for Sunday dinner. Oh well…

If you’re asking yourself, “What does this have to do with reading”, it’s my reminder to always, always read your grocery receipt. You don’t want to be paying for someone else’s item or items. And if you look over that receipt and see that something didn’t scan and you got it for free, do the honest thing. Go back and pay for it. What goes around comes around.

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

