All You Need Is Less – by Madeleine Somerville (2014)

All You Need Is Less

This title in the “New Book” section of the library caught my eye, and I brought it home with me. From the first page, I was drawn into Madeleine’s passion to simplify her life and make the world a less polluted place to live. She looked at just about every area of her life to see where she could make some changes. This is truly a woman who lives what she believes.

Don’t like the chemicals in your cleaners? Madeleine has suggestions for shampoo, floor cleaners, soap scum remover, dryer sheets, laundry detergent, and more. She’s got great ideas on grocery-shopping,  developing a more natural diet, and dabbling in growing some of your own food. If you’re expecting a baby, she’s got fantastic ideas about diapering, wipes, clothing, and toy selection.

Madeleine has a frank manner of speaking, and sprinkles her book with mild swearing, but in my mind I envision a quirky neighbor with a heart of gold. I felt a kinship with the author, as so many of her attitudes about possessions and priorities resonated with me. I particularly enjoyed reading about her love of clotheslines, which I share! There are plenty of books on the minimalist lifestyle, but I would be hard-pressed to find one written with more humor and wit.

Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

1 thought on “All You Need Is Less – by Madeleine Somerville (2014)”

Leave a Reply

