Divergent – by Veronica Roth (2011)


Beatrice – or Tris as she calls herself – is 16, and it is time to decide what position or faction in society she wants to identify with the rest of her life. Her choices are:
Abnegation, which values selflessness above all,
Candor, which holds honesty as its highest priority,
Erudite, which pursues knowledge and intelligence,
Amity, which prices peace and harmony,
or Daughtless, which are the brave protectors.

Once she choses a faction, she and the other newbies go through a rigorous initiation to see if they are right for the position they have selected. It is much harder than Tris thought it would be. The training is brutal, and her fellow trainees don’t always support her. Just as she starts feeling comfortable in her faction, everything starts falling apart around her.

There is something instinctive about wanting to put individuals in a box, and expecting them to behave and function in a set way. But you can only do that so long before the people begin to push back and insist on being able to try something different. Pigeon-holing people only works to a certain degree, as is demonstrated in “Divergent”.


Author: alwaysreading2014

I'm just a person with an intense love for reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s